Unpopular Opinion: Cornering Does Not Belong

(Kincaid) #1

I have been playing Stick Arena on and off since 2008. On and off, so maybe like 5 or 6 years total of those. In all my days, I have never seen objectively worse gameplay than what happens when two people decide to take a corner. Cornering is the very thing that creates the slowest, most uninteresting, most slatematey, and most outright absolutely boring gameplay. Have you ever played XGen HQ? Every single game of XGen HQ consists of people just cornering forever, and only leaving a corner if they’re forced out from behind or know their opponent is 1 or 2 shots from death. This happens on every single map with ranged weapons on it.

See for yourself, with this intense, adrenaline-rushing 1v1 footage I captured myself just the other day on Sunnyville Trailerpark!
Stick%20Arena%20Cornering

Not only is cornering outright boring to a pathetic degree, cornering is the absolute antithesis to what Stick Arena promises and was built with in mind: fast, fun, aggressive gameplay. Not hyper-defensive camping until some dues ex machina comes along and breaks the stalemate. Getting back into Stick Arena is the most fun I’ve had in years, but only when people actually fight. When people cower and only leave their corner to scavenge a kill, Stick Arena becomes so loathsome, and as flat as the very stick figures within it.

Stick Arena’s gameplay should be a test of raw aim and and movement skill, not a test of patience; being able to attack from a position without having to expose yourself to returned fire is not only plain one-sided and nullifying of the skill of others, but it lowers the otherwise high skill ceiling of the game as well.